version française Français
            Expertise   Equipement   Project examples   Industrial internship   

Chair leaflet

Download the NERC industrial chair in optical design leaflet

Mission

To train highly qualified personnel and support photonics industry.

Objectives

• Train highly qualified personnel in optical design, metrology and optomecanics.

• Establish industry partnerships, create efficient design teams and networks.

• Promote, among research professionals and other interest groups, the importance of optical design and metrology.

• Promote innovation using advanced technological concepts as well as novel methods.

Description

Optics and photonics play a key role in the world today. A successful optical device relies greatly upon the use of novel optical design concepts. If we take into account the increasingly complex research and design environment for biophotonics, surveillance security and astronomy, the existence of a research chair focused on simulation, design and analysis of optical systems becomes necessary to maximise the benefits for optical industry & research in Canada. We support our partners through the training of optical designers and the refining of new methods of design and characterization of optical systems. Our partners have come to rely upon our numerous technology transfers and skilled optical designers that allow them to be more competitive internationally.

The scientific planning for the chair’s second mandate still includes a number of research activities that address modern concerns in optical design and engineering. We are betting on the implementation of original optical design concepts, novel imagery concepts, innovative testing setups and novel assembly methods.

The optical design industrial chair actively supports a world-class infrastructure for training in optics. This unique training is possible in great part thanks to our industrial partners contributing unique research and development challenges. The industry’s participation, involvement and commitment helps to create an environment propitious to innovation and progress within our research group.

Industrial chair's research axes

LRIO2014
  • Partenaires NSERC-CRSNG logo ImmerVision logo ABB logo Xeos logo gentec-eo logo lumca logo copl logo

English version English
            Expertise   Équipement   Exemples de projet   Formation en milieu pratique   

Dépliant de la chaire

Téléchargez le dépliant de chaire de recherche industrielle du CRSNG en conception optique

Mission

Former du personnel hautement qualifié et soutenir l’industrie de la photonique

Objectifs

• Former du personnel hautement qualifié en conception optique, en métrologie et en optomécanique.

• Établir avec l’industrie des partenariats, former des équipes et des réseaux efficaces de conception.

• Faire valoir, auprès de chercheurs et d’autres groupes d’intérêt, l’importance de la conception optique et de la métrologie optique.

• Promouvoir l’innovation tant dans les concepts avancés développés que dans les méthodes novatrices utilisées.

Description

L'optique et la photonique jouent aujourd'hui un rôle de première importance dans le monde. Le succès d'un instrument optique est en grande partie attribuable à l'utilisation de concepts optiques novateurs. Compte tenu de l'environnement de développement de plus en plus complexe en biophotonique, en surveillance, en sécurité et en astronomie, l'existence d'une chaire de recherche qui s'intéresse à la modélisation, à la conception et à l'analyse de systèmes optiques apporte un appui inestimable en matière de conception optique afin de maximiser les retombées pour l'industrie et les chercheurs en optique au Canada. Cet appui pour nos partenaires passe par la formation de concepteurs optiques et la mise au point de nouvelles méthodes de conception et de caractérisation des systèmes optiques. Nos partenaires ont pu compter jusqu'à maintenant sur plusieurs transferts de technologie et de concepteurs optiques qui leurs permettent aujourd'hui d'être plus compétitifs à l'échelle mondiale.

La programmation scientifique du second mandat de la Chaire comportera encore des activités de recherche qui abordent des questions modernes en conception et en génie optique. Nous misons sur la mise en œuvre de techniques de conception optique originales, de concepts d'imagerie nouveaux, de montages d'essai novateurs et d'approches nouvelles pour l'assemblage.

La Chaire industrielle en conception optique soutient activement une infrastructure de classe mondiale pour la formation en optique. Cette formation unique est rendue possible par l'apport des partenaires en proposant des défis de recherche et développement. La participation, l'implication et l'engagement de l'industrie contribuent à créer un environnement favorable à l'innovation et au progrès au sein du groupe de recherche.

  • Partenaires NSERC-CRSNG logo ImmerVision logo ABB logo Xeos logo gentec-eo logo lumca logo copl logo