version française Français

Several courses related to the LRIO’s research activities are offered at Université Laval.
The most notable are:


  • Introduction to optical design - PHY-7043/GPH-4101
  • This course’s goal is to display the issues concerning the use optical components. Once the course is finished, the student should know how to design, organise and validate an optical system and how to use optical design software. After a quick introduction, the course addresses geometrical optics, optical materials, aberrations, image quality and optical system design.

  • Optical Design - PHY-7096
  • This course centers on understanding, analysing and correcting optical aberrations created by a variety of optical systems. The focus is put on practical understanding of optical design and the use of optical design software tools. This is done through a series of projects concerning the optimisation of several optical systems.

  • Optomechanics - PHY-7100
  • Optomechanics is the field of engineering specialised in the mounting of passive and active optical components. This course centers on understanding, analysing an applying theoretical and practical notions in optical mounting. The focus is on practical understanding of the basics of mechanical design and validation of functional optomechanical systems.

  • Fourier Optics - PHY-7003
  • This course teaches concepts related to Fourier optics to resolve optical diffraction problems. Fourier analysis of linear one and two dimensional systems. Fresnel and Fraunhofer diffraction. Fourier transform & sampling theorems. Spatial frequency and spectral analysis of image formation. Optical signal processing in coherent and incoherent illumination. Spatial filtering. Image reconstruction. Applications.

English version English

Plusieurs cours reliés aux activitées de recherche du LRIO sont offerts à l'Université Laval.
Les plus importants sont:


  • Introduction à la conception optique - PHY-7043/GPH-4101
  • Vise une compréhension des enjeux dans l'utilisation des composantes optiques. À la fin du cours, l'étudiant devra savoir concevoir, organiser et valider un montage optique et comprendre comment on peut utiliser un logiciel de conception optique. Après une introduction, le cours traite de l'optique géométrique, des matériaux optiques, des aberrations, de la qualité de l'image et de la conception de systèmes optiques

  • Conception optique - PHY-7096
  • Ce cours permet à l'étudiant de comprendre, d'analyser et de corriger les aberrations optiques produites par différents systèmes optiques. L'accent est mis sur la compréhension pratique de la conception optique et sur l'utilisation des outils logiciels de conception optique à partir de l'étude et de l'optimisation de différents concepts optiques.

  • Optomécanique - PHY-7100
  • L’optomécanique est le domaine du génie qui est spécialisé dans le montage de composantes optiques passives ou actives. Ce cours permet à l’étudiant de comprendre, d'analyser et d’appliquer les notions de base théorique et pratique à la conception de montages optiques. L’accent est mis sur la compréhension pratique des concepts de bases de mécanique pour la conception et la validation de système optomécanique fonctionnel.

  • Optique de Fourier - PHY-7003
  • Amener l’étudiant à assimiler les concepts relatifs à l’analyse de Fourier dans la résolution de problèmes d’optique diffractive. Analyse de Fourier de systèmes linéaires à une et deux dimensions. Diffraction de Fresnel / diffraction de Fraunhofer. Théorèmes des transformées de Fourier et théorème d’échantillonnage. Fréquences spatiales et analyse spectrale de la formation d’image. Traitement du signal optique en éclairage cohérent et incohérent. Filtrage spatial. Reconstruction d’image. Applications.